See What Others Area Saying About Sportsman's

I was there for my bachelor party we stayed in a villa was really nice. We took a charter boat out with Troy Branden. Trip was awesome Kris Welker, November 25, 2015

We had a nice stay. Weather was great. We make it an annual trip over Columbus Day weekend and as always fishing was awesome. Since you're on the river and so close to the lake both options are available. Matt Rydberg, October 13, 2015

Great. Fishing was excellent guided by Darryl. A little windy the first day but calmer the second. Tom Carlson, October 13, 2015

Great Stay. Stuart Quanrud, October 11, 2015

Spectacular Stay! Dennis Letson, October 9, 2015

Great stay! Chris Marshall, October 8, 2015

Awesome! Staff was very accommodating in getting us a small fridge in the room!! Thanks again!!! Wayne Williams, October 8, 2015

We had a nice time. The fishing was good, the guide was great and the food awesome. Julie Desrocher, October 4, 2015

The weather was beautiful! The fishing was great on our launch with Dave! He was the best!
We caught our limit of fish within just a few hours.  We loved having bar and grill within walking distance.  We stayed in one of the one room cabins and it was very cozy and fine since we spent most of our waking moments fishing!  We will come again in the fall. Fall colors were beautiful. Russ Meyer, October 4, 2015

Excellent! The fishing was great. Todd our guide was awesome! Food was good. John Peterson, September 22, 2015

I just wanted to say that we all had a great lunch for our group of 28 and really enjoyed ourselves! On behalf of our club thanks for accommodating us! Hope to see you next year! Cheers. Richard Wansbutter, Secretary RRR-PCA, September 22, 2015

We had a great and enjoyable visit to Sportsman's Lodge from Aug. 30th when we arrived to Sept. 2nd when we left for home. Dave did an excellent of guiding us on the two days that we were fishing with him. Joseph Mertel, September 22, 2015

Excellent. Good food and good fishing. Ray Palcher, September 21, 2015

Everything was very good. Mary Lou Feroni, September 21, 2015

Great stay! John Carlson, September 21, 2015

The day of fishing was excellent. The guide did a great job. Steve Jesme, September 21, 2015

Had a great time and will definitely be back. New Villas were Awesome and the food and fishing was even better!!!!!!! Tyler Rabe, September 21, 2015

Thanks for everything yesterday.  I was a great day and Eric was a great captain. Jeff Lovold, August 27, 2015

Great and love the new villas. Marcus Hanson, August 24, 2015

We stayed in villa 417 and it was fantastic! The villa was clean, with a great layout, and was beautiful. The staff was more than accommodating, and the food in the restaurant was great. Shannon LaHaise, August 13, 2015

Great stay! Bob Sombke, August 13, 2015

Excellent! Steve Cairns, July 28, 2015

We all had a wonderful time! Fishing, food, and good conversation!!! Dennis Madden, July 28, 2015

Perfect, nice room (could use towel rods in bathroom) had great food, drinks and nice store. Front desk people are great! Mark Pierce, July 27, 2015

It was a good stay, was glad to get a lower floor room with the door to the docks. Curtis Lange, July 27, 2015

Loved it. The guide, Troy was super. We all had a great time! Geno Livingston, July 21, 2015

Great, the villa was beautiful. Josh Honeyman, July 20, 2015

Excellent! The new villas were better than expected and perfect for our family group! Jason Tibbits, July 6, 2015

It was wonderful, captain as always is the best ever. The room with the updates, we're clean and very comfortable. Leo & Sherri Streiff, July 6, 2015

EXCELLENT STAY! Mark Harris, July 6, 2015

I gave this fishing trip to my grandson for graduation. We both had a better than great time. The accommodations were nice and the meals were fabulous. Grandson loved the Cheezy Garlic Walleye. Fishing was great for the three days we spent with the guides. We would enjoy coming back. Errol Lorimer, July 3, 2015

One of our best trips ever! Eric and Darryl were super good guides and kept us on the fish, the weather was perfect, the food was great and the beds were good. I wish I had known about the villas we would have stayed there but we had a great trip. Thomas Miller, July 2, 2015

The staff was amazing. We had booked a cabin only to get there and discover there was no air condition. They were able to move us to a walk out lodge room! It was perfect! Nicky Bender, July 2, 2015

All 10 of us had a great time and the villas were beautiful. John land I are celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary so our kids and grandkids were all with us and we had a great time. John Sele, June 27, 2015

My husband and I had an awesome trip! We enjoyed the lodge. The charter trips and captains were wonderful. The walleye was delicious! Everyone was very friendly! Thanks for a great trip!! See you again! Diane Wehrle, June 25, 2015

Our stay was great. Rooms were comfortable. Our guide for charter fishing was excellent. Unfortunately it was a slow fishing day, but he did his best to find fish. We were able to catch a few big ones. We would definitely come back Tara Humlie, June 24 2015

Great have had so much fun on our trips.
Just told our son about Sportsman and he and his wife will be there over the 4th for a launch trip. Excited! Patricia Perkins, June 24, 2015

Thanks for the great fishing trip. Your entire staff made it a fantastic trip. Everyone on my side had a wonderful time. Thanks. Bob Drabes, June 22, 2015

Very goooood indeed! Steve Reidel, June 18, 2015

Wonderful. Kyle, Joel, Joe, Trish, Amy, Captain Billy, Chi Chi and the rest of the staff were terrific. John Dean, June 18, 2015

Very nice. Enjoyed it very much Martin Anderson, June 18, 2015

Excellent! Richard Zunker, June 17, 2015

Great as always! John Metsker, June 12, 2015

Very nice - thank you! Stacy Voelker, June 10, 2015

Excellent! Dennis Madden, May 30, 2015

All aspects of our stay were great. Dan Carlson gets most of the credit since he was the individual we spent most of our time with. We also enjoyed the staff at Oak Island. All were friendly and each would go out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed the "Oak Island Adventure Package" and are already planning our next visit. Dave Meyers, May 30, 2015

Very nice. Really enjoyed the new villas. Thank you!! Jerry Stein, May 26, 2015

Excellent as usual! Tim Peleski, May 21, 2015

Our stay was nice. The villa are awesome the staff is super nice and I can't complain about the fishing we had. Mark Rohde, May 20, 2015

Great stay! David Peterson, May 19, 2015

I just can't say enough thanks to all the staff for making our stay memorable and as comfortable as possible!!! From Captain Dave whom went above and beyond his call of duty to Kathy in the dining room and Bryna at the front desk. Thanks again to all at the Sportsman’s Lodge for everything!  Andy Kulas, Esko, MN, May 18, 2015

Our recent stay at the Sportsman's Lodge Villas was excellent. We thought the facilities were outstanding and we are going to recommend them to our friends. Steve Cairns, May 18, 2015

Everything was great including the coffee. Front counter people, bartenders and housekeeping were friendly and very helpful. Robert Musech, May 16, 2015

My sister Kathy and I had a blast. Ralph was a wonderful guide. Met Eric, a guide and one of the managers. He treated us very well. I wouldn't change a thing other than the weather and that wont happen :) Kelly Sutton, May 13, 2015

Had a very nice stay--room was clean, nice view and good food in the bar. Our guide, Dave W. did an excellent job--and we caught a lot of sturgeon. Very good box lunch that was provided. William Kathman, May 12, 2015

Villa was very comfortable and we had a lot of fun fishing. Alexander Shifrin, May 12, 2015

Our group really enjoyed the new villa we stayed in. Excellent! Todd Green, May 4, 2015

Thanks to Gregg we had a great stay two weekends ago in your new villa. It was great and you guys did a great job building it. We will be back for sure. Thanks, Gary Phillips April 24, 2015

Always is great!  Mark SweenApril 23, 2015

We came up to fish Rainy River, accommodations at the Lodge were excellent! Thomas Hicks, April 22, 2015

It’s always great! Caught a lot of big sturgeon with many in the 60"-66" range. Will be back up the week of the tourney and can’t wait for the time to get here! Dusty Nielsen, April 22, 2015

The people at the Sportsman were fantastic!! We had a group of 34 that used a meeting room one day and ice fished or snowmobiled the next two days. All the employees treated us like Royalty. Roger Hansen, April 1, 2015

Awesome, enjoyed every minute of our stay in the new villas. Ice Fishing could've been better but that's why it's called fishing and not catching. Met lots of new friends, none the less. Can't wait for our summer follow up visit. Ted Robinson, March 30, 2015

Awesome stay! Benjamin Johnson, Eden Prairie, MN, March 19, 2015

Sportsman’s is the only place to fish out of on Lake of the Woods. First class from the guides, employees, accommodations and of course the fishing! Thanks, Doug & Dan Loos, March 18, 2015

Fortunate to stay at your lodge from March 8 - 10.  Enjoyed the stay, fishing, hospitality, and food.  Your staff were all quite helpful, friend, professional, and courteous.  Plan on making ice fishing trips to your lodge in the future.  Again thanks for a great ice fishing experience. Terry, March 15, 2015 

It was wonderful. All of the "girls" enjoyed it and are looking forward to the 2016 annual trip! Beef was an excellent guide who did a good job of taking care of us on the ice, and everything was good at the resort also. Mary Lou Feroni, Virginia, MN, March 14, 2015

Excellent stay! Joe Brecht, Watford City, ND, March 12, 2015

Very nice stay! Thomas Peterson, Bismarck, ND, March 12, 2015

Great! Nice Villas, Great transportation and Nice People! Darrell Ward, Richmond, MN, March 12, 2015

Wonderful time, great hospitality. Can't wait until next time. Shaun Clarke, Oscoda, MI, March 9, 2015

Awesome! We are coming up again in 2 weeks to do it all over again. We already booked a trip for next winter with our husbands for valentines weekend!! Kristina Pierce, Hibbing, MN, March 9, 2015

Excellent, everyone was very attentive. Great guides, Joe and Matt both did an excellent job, checking on us frequently. Matt especially went above and beyond. My husband loved Kathy our server, we had her every evening and had above par service every time. We will be back. (also I want the recipe for your wild rice crab salad) Good stuff! Lea Comstock, North Branch, MN, March 5, 2015
Great!! Duane Halter, March 4, 2015
Stay was great! Awesome bartenders and staff and music was great! Thank you! Leah Henry, Aurora, MN, March 3, 2015

Good day Gregg, 
Sorry that I did not get a chance to see you on the weekend. I bet with a full Lodge and a family growing up I am sure there are not enough hours in a day for you! 

Our group would like to give Special Thanks to your Manager Erik. As you are aware it was -40C on Sunday morning and we had 8 snowmobiles that would not start. Erik arranged for us to get all the sleds into your heated shop. And thankfully within the hour we were all able to head home to Manitoba.

I also want to Thank Jennifer for all her hard work over the years. Our room bookings, changing of rooms, dinner reservations and arranging a day of fishing for a few in our group. 

We would like to Thank all the bartenders, servers, cooks, housekeeping and front desk staff for the many courtesies shown to our group, The food and music too were awesome!!  Once again proving why Sportsman's Lodges is Number One on Rainy River! 

We are already booked for the 22nd Annual next winter at Sportsman's. 
Wishing you all continued success in 2015! 
Your Canadian Friend,  Don Lewis, February 27, 2015

We had a wonderful time. Been to Sportsman’s twice now and were very happy. Nice to have everything provided. Food is excellent and hotel is clean. -Doug Trenda, Deerwood, MN, February 26, 2015

Very nice as usual. We always look forward to staying at Sportsman's!!! - Roger Beck, February 23, 2015

Our stay was great. Travis, Keith and Cody could not have treated us any better. They truly are good people. That also goes for Brady, Beth, Abby and all the girls at the front desk. We will return. Best Regards, Bob Factor, Cleveland, MN, February 23, 2015

Great!! Stayed this time in the lodge. Love the fact that we didn't have to go outside to go for supper and the bar. Room was great also!! We totally enjoyed ourselves. - Scott Schrag, February 17, 2015

We had a great time. All your personnel were friendly and helpful. - Syd Briggs, February 17, 2015

We had a fantastic time as usual!! - Lori Wurzbacher, February 16, 2015

Our group had a good time. If we make it back next year I think everyone would like to stay in the motel rooms. It is just more handy, especially going to the pool than the cabins. - Steve Schultz, February 16, 2015

The trip was very enjoyable. Brooke, the morning waitress was very helpful and pleasant. Make sure you ask her about her fishing blog. The food was GREAT and very reasonably priced. The cabin was excellent.  -Robert Werner, February 16, 2015

Awesome! My party had a great time ice fishing. We got upgraded to a villa which was awesome too. - Naomi Gullickson, February 16, 2015

Great as usual.  - Tom Carlson, February 16, 2015

Our last fishing trip was Fantastic. We got our limits. The "gap" seems to be the best place for catching walleyes. We love your restaurant too. Thank you ! - Bruce Ferguson. January 24, 2015
The stay was great, we stayed in a cabin and did the Halloween/guided fishing trip. We caught a ton of fish and the guide was great! Great Halloween party as well. - Brent Melsa, January 24, 2015
Our group of 11 just enjoyed a very pleasant trip to Sportsman’s Lodge and a great time was had by all! Sure the fishing could have been better but we were treated very nice by all and the facilities were just as we had expected and hoped-friendly and comfortable. All staff were helpful and nice and smiles where worn by all.

I first came to Sportsman’s Lodge in the winter of 1982 and I returned in about 1986 or 87. I brought this group of 11 this time and we will return again maybe next year!

p.s. Colleen, you were very helpful setting this all up in the beginning—much appreciated! - Roger C. Underwood, January 23, 2015

Great, we stayed in one of your new villas. beautiful ! - Daniel Gustafson, January 16, 2015
Excellent. Fish weren't biting but it was fun. Food was Excellent! - Amber Struchen, January 14, 2015
I would definitely stay again. We had a wonderful time. - Gary Chaplin, January 13, 2015
Awesome as usual! - Dan Loos, January 12, 2015
Stayed in the villas, and they exceeded our expectations, we couldn't have asked for a better trip. Fishing was slow the first day and you guys moved us, and we killed it the second day. Already planning our trip for next year! - David Hanson, January 12, 2015
I was always satisfied with food and accommodations. My wife really enjoyed Oak Island. Bob Pluth, January 9, 2015
Excellent. Friendly staff, good food & drink and went home with my limit! Monte Struck, January 7, 2015
Very nice. Food was excellent. Service was great. Rooms were very nice. The only thing that would have made visit perfect, is if fishing would have been better. We just hit a bad day. Craig Edwards, Ada MN, January 7, 2015
We had a very comfortable stay and a good fish. The cabin was warm and the staff friendly. We ate and drank in the lounge and were pleased to have the option of cooking in our cabin. Our fishing guides were all very accommodating. Lisa Boone, N. St. Paul MN, January 7, 2015
Excellent It was my 5th trip this year. Always catch our limit. Great service and always a joy to stay. Todd Dewhurst, October 15, 2014
We had a great time at Sportsman's Lodge during our grouse hunt weekend. We also found some great habitat that will be producing grouse for years. Lot's of fun! Dave Scheer, October 10, 2014
I have been up there many times and you have always provided a great experience. I look forward to it again. Mack Ziemer, October 9, 2014
Great place to stay & to fish! Greg Johnson, October 7, 2014
My son and I went ice fishing and summer fishing in 2014. We had a great time! Frank Scovel, October 7, 2014
Great times ice fishing in sleeper houses! Charlie Cardwell, October 7, 2014
Great times fishing! I enjoy the staff. Michael Mass, October 7, 2014
Our stay was excellent! The staff and especially our fishing guide Bob (part timer)were great! Bob was a lot of fun on the boat. He knows how to fish! The food was excellent too! John Peterson, October 1, 2014
Thanks for the photos they were fun to look at. We were very impressed with your resort it was a very fun trip and one that we will be doing again! I stay at a lot of resorts all around the state for different fishing trips and I'm happy to say that the experience we had with u guys puts you at the top my list. I would also like to say how impressed I was with our "Admiral" aka Keith he put us on fish which is important but not as important as his people skills he was fun and outgoing and willing to explain a lot about the lake. I do some guiding myself and could not have been more pleased than I was with him. Thanks to everyone there. Mitch Hackenmeuller, September 29, 2014
Great Place! Bob Mattsen, September 29, 2014
We had a wonderful stay. We stayed in Cabin 1 and had a wonderful view of the river. Our meals in the lodge and drinks in the bar were very enjoyable. The staff was great. Thank you. Greg Alexander, September 28, 2014
Great place and wonderful fishing! Brenda Ferguson, September 28, 2014
Came up a few years ago for the first time, everything was great, food, service and fishing. Last year the fish weren't as plentiful, but expect that to happen from time to time. Hope to come again this winter. Leslie BurtonSeptember 26, 2014
Always a great time with Sportsman's Lodges! Greg KamlSeptember 26, 2014
We have been there twice and love it. Everyone is so helpful and friendly . Love the new villas . We will be back again in January and bringing more people.  Sincerely, Gayle O'BrienSeptember 26, 2014
Excellent! The weather was cold and blustery, but even though the fishing was very slow, I thought it was great we caught all our fish!  Both launch captains we had were great! Anthony BuscheSeptember 25, 2014
Yesterday we fished with Ralph and had a great time. Andy OtrembaSeptember 22, 2014
We enjoyed our stay & met some new friends! Bernice WintererSeptember 11, 2014
Everyone had a great time! Glenn OlsonSeptember 11, 2014
Had a very nice time. Snag was our guide and was great as always. Stayed in 17 & 18.
See you soon  Don WallerSeptember 3, 2014
The food was great and fishing with Kit Beckel was phenomenal! We have been coming there for 25 plus years. Don't let Kit retire! Dean Nelson, August 31, 2014
First stay and certainly won't be my last. My co-workers were absolutely correct when they recommended that I take my youngest son there for a few days. You have helped make memories that we will have forever, and now I look forward to sharing your experiences with my other three children. Very sincerely, thank you! Matthew Arnett, August 29, 2014
Very happy with my previous trips to the resort. I'll be a repeat customer for sure. Derek Van Heuveln, August 29, 2014
Nice place, that the whole family enjoys! Bob Mattsen, August 28, 2014
Love your resorts. Definitely want to come back for ice fishing! Dan Stefanich, August 28, 2014
We had a great time. The Villa was absolutely gorgeous. The staff is amazing. The fishing was incomparable! Loved our time there. Thank you for everything! Lisa Keplin, August 25, 2014
Just wanted to say thanks again for the hospitality and great time. Your facilities are incredible. I have had so many of my friends and Facebook friends asking about our trip and the lodge. I thought I would share some of our favorite pics from our fishing experience.  Lisa Parisien, August 28, 2014
Great! Good fishing, great guide and food was wonderful. We even enjoyed a drink or two in the bar. Jim Smith, August 14, 2014
We have stayed there a few times and have stopped by for breakfast and dinner several times. We always have a teriffic time there. Bob Mattsen, August 13, 2014
WE HAD A GREAT TIME. THE FACILITIES WERE GREAT AND DAVE, OUR GUIDE, REALLY DID A GREAT JOB OF TAKING CARE OF US AND WE CAUGHT A LOT OF WALLEYES!!!! Jerry Gault, August 5, 2014
Our guide Dan was fantastic. We decided to bring the the entire family, and the ladies (Wife and daughter - 9 ) had a great time and really enjoyed our stay!! Jonathan Lemke, August 4, 2014

We've been coming up there for years and always enjoy our stay. Fishing was quite good and we enjoy going out with Dan. It's a family affair, my son Royce and even the dog have a super time up there and in the lodge. We anticipate coming back next year again.  Steve Molick, August 4, 2014

Rooms were clean. Mike did a great job guiding! We'll be back for sure!
Connie Marquardt, July 16, 2015

We have stayed now 2 times at the lodge rooms and both experience's have been wonderful. The girls at the front desk are amazing! We will be coming again and telling our friends about our stay! Shannon Reed, July 10, 2014
As usual, we had a great time. Dan is our favorite guide and the food at the lodge was super!! Shelia Peterson, July 9, 2014
Enjoyed every day of the trip!! Fishing was a challenge at times, but Eric lead us to fill out each day. Great food!! Roger Larson, July 8, 2014
We had a good stay. Everything were clean and the staff was very helpful. Buzz Hoffman, July 7, 2014
Captain Dan was a great guide. Limited out on Walleyes like always. - Dave Hanson, June 19, 2014
Excellent trip. Captain Dan was fantastic as always.Fishing was great with a 60 inch Sturgeon to top off the trip! - Bill Forrey, June 19, 2014
Stay was good---new villa's are just what the Dr. ordered---basic, spacious...well thought out...huge advantage for you when looking at competitive lodges.. Mike our guide was very good....give him a raise...Russ Kramer, June 12, 2014
Fantastic. Mike did a super job attending to every fishing need. - Roderick Youngdahl, June 12, 2014
The stay was great and the fishing was off the hook.(PUN INTENDED) It was great to take a tour of the new cabins. We booked one for next year. - Richard Zunker, June 9, 2014
Best Resort on the Rainy River !!! We got to stay in the beautiful new Villa !!!! Awesome fishing. - Brenda Ferguson, June 7, 2014
The Villa's are very nice! Thank you! - Christopher Niska, June 5, 2014
Our last visit was Fantastic ! We stayed in one of the new Villas. They are beautiful. The food at the lodge was excellent. The staff is very friendly, we has a great time, Thanks !!!!! - Brenda Ferguson, June 5, 2014
Great time caught our limit - Pat Ericson, June 5, 2014
Great over all, well above average accommodations - Lloyd Morgan, June 5, 2014
Thank you for making my stay for son's first visit a wonderful experience. - Woody Prehn, January 26, 2014
We had a wonderful time. Service was outstanding, staff were very friendly and accommodating and we are looking forward to our trip next winter already. Thank you Greg for always making us feel welcome - you are top shelf in our book. - William Beaulieu, January 26, 2014
Fishing was great. Food was also good. - John Tyner, January 24, 2014
Always enjoy our time with you and your hospitality. We recommend to many friends also. 
Donald Heim, January 24, 2014
We had a great time and fishing was fun, hope to make it back later this season or next season for sure. 
Matt Stoddart, January 24, 2014
Thank you Gregg and Diana! Julie and I could not have been treated better during our recent stay, from the moment we arrived until the time we departed. Starting with Jenny at the front desk to Luke in the Bomber, just the best! Good luck the rest of the way, and "hopefully" we will be back in March.  Take care. - Roger Beck, January 24, 2014
Enjoyed everything about the trip, food , room, and fishing. Chuck Easley, January 24, 2014
Great experiences and very friendly! - Gordon Zimmerman, December 31, 2013
Troy guided us again and did a great job! - Scott Amell, December 30, 2013
We come every year and stay at Sportsman's. Always a good time & friendly staff. - Kari Schroeder, November 7, 2013
I just want to say that Mathew the dock keeper did one heck of a job for us on Saturday. We came up there to fish the Chili Bowl tournament that Border View was putting on. Unfortunately we parked our 16" boat with the bow facing the beach. It filled up with water overnight and we were sunk. Mathew upon seeing the situation brought over some bilge pumps and soon we were back in business. Mathew is an asset to your resort and because of him we will never stay anywhere but Sportsman's Lodge again. Thanks again, - Jon Hedin, October 15, 2013
Everything was great. - Corey Berg, October 15, 2013
Fishing was excellent last week and weather was perfect. See you on "the opener". - Jim Smith, October 14, 2013
We had a great time. - Robert Nixon, October 3, 2013
Thank you for a fun filled weekend. The wedding was great and your place was perfect for them! Take care and have a wonderful fall! - Arleen Swenson, October 2, 2013
Everything was great! Pat Ericson, October 2, 2013 
Guide Keith, meals, lodging and service outstanding! - Timothy Parret, October 1, 2013
We always enjoy our visit with you; The food, the service, the friendliness, the hot tub etc. - Bernice and Bruno Winterer, Manitoba Canada,  September 4, 2013
The accommodations were great as was the food and service in the dining room. We will plan to stay there again. 
- Eldon Tessman, Brooklyn Park, MN August 22, 2013
We had a enjoyable time, food was great very accommodating. We are planning another stay probably in October, so we will be in touch. Janell Wink, September 4, 2013
Jennifer, I realize I maybe a bit "tardy" here but I wanted to pass along a huge Thank You to you and your crew at Sportsmans Lodge. The reviews we are receiving from students who attended the All Star Walleye School is fantastic. The facility was a perfect venue, especially in relations to the docks. The Meals were great and timely, much appreciated. Excellent event and that is directly related to the services provided by Sportsman's. Please pass along a sincere Thank you to the entire staff at Sportsman's. Thank you Jennifer for the care and time you personally took to insure our needs were met. You were exceptional to work and I commend you, thank you. Have a great fall season and again, thank you, - Chip Leer, Host: All Star Walleye School , September 4, 2013
Hi Diana & Gregg,
We wanted to give you an extended thank you for making our wedding wishes come true. Everything was perfect from the bachlorette party to the fish fry dinner and boat cruise to our wedding ceremony and reception. Diana, it made me feel so good seeing you working at the reception. When I saw you, I knew the evening was going to run smoothly. You have the best chefs, the food was fantastic, our guests are still talking about the pot roast and mashed potatoes! The pizzas were a hit too! Thank you for being so accommodating and helping us have the most memorable wedding. We had so much fun at our reception and breakfast the next morning was devine! This was a destination wedding for us and it was everything I had always dreamed of. Your staff is great. We fell in love with Brady, can't wait to see him next year when we do our yearly fishing trip. I will recommend Sportsman's anytime for a wedding venue. It was excellent, so convenient, having everything at the lodge was so accommodating for our guests. Thanks again and lots of love, - Colin & Jenilee Mann, August 20, 2013
The staff is fantastic, everybody was helpful and cheerful. - Patrick Funk, August 19, 2013
We had a fantastic time staying and fishing with you! We are already making plans for our next summer trip up there. :) Thanks! - Jennifer Ringgenberg, August 8, 2013
You guys do a great job. Talked to the newlyweds, and they were thrilled with everything. They were impresseed and pleased that Greg worked fish fry and Diana worked the dance. Impressive. I'm not surprised.. thx again and best regards Diana, Greg and Eric. - Duncan McDonald, August 8, 2013
We were well taken care of. Good fishing and a great guide Daryl. - Keith E. Bromley, July 26, 2013
Excellent experience again...we appreciate all the friendly staff and guides. Customer for over 30+ years. - Mary Soldner, July 26, 2013
Had a great time. Our fishing guide was Troy, and he did a great job. This was our first trip to Sportsmans Lodge, and I'm sure we'll be coming back again next year. Thanks!!! - Matt Pearson, July 26, 2013
Have stayed at Sportsman's Lodge once & last fall at Oak Island which was a great experience! Will be coming back this fall for another 2 day fishing trip. I'm so impressed with the amount of fish we catch during each visit. Have shared my exciting fishing adventures with everyone I know. - Jackie Clark, July 26, 2013
Had a great time!!!!!! - JoAnne Backman, Saginaw, MN, July 12, 2013
Had a great stay! Thank you- John Jose, July 12, 2013
To all the staff at the Sportsman's Lodge:

My brothers John, Randy & Tom and nephew Andy and I had the pleasure of being your guests for a few days this past week. Sometimes picking a vacation spot off the web can be a little 'iffy,' but we were blessed to find a spot that exceeded expectations. I cannot say enough nice things about all the staff we met. From Darryl our fishing Guide, to Cathy, Lexi and Marriah in the dinning room, to the front desk staff (who don't wear name tags so we cannot single them out) everyone was absolutely wonderful. They certainly know how to treat guests and you should be proud of the manner in which your staff welcomes your guests. The service and the fishing were top shelf. You helped us to honor our grand father on this trip, as he was the walleye fisherman in the family and this trip was in his memory.

If we ever have a hankering to fish for walleyes again, you can be assured that we will be returning to The Sportsman's Lodge in Baudette.

Stay Safe, shoot straight - 
Steve Canfield, July 2013
Thoroughly enjoy my visits to Sportsman's! - Wayne Williams, May 23, 2013
Had a great opener 12 yr old grandson caught a 30 inch walleye. I have enjoyed many trips to your lodge. A clean and well cared for place to stay. THANK YOU - Mike Rosenberger, May 17, 2013
Hello Sportsman's Lodge,

I just wanted to take a minute to say Thank You for the wonderful stay at Sportsmans this 2013 opener. We had a blast and as you can see we caught many big fish which were all released and we were able to go home with fish in the freezer. My son Bronson turned 13 so this was his first year to go with dad and dads buddy's he had a blast and caught many fish. He really enjoyed your hot tub and pool. Thanks again for making our stay special see you soon!
- Curt Herwers, Todd Mester, Bronson and Paul Nistler, May 16, 2013
Hi, Just wanted to say thanks from the Berger group from 3/2-3/5. We had a great time. Great people working for you so thumbs up! Heres a photo of one of your guys with the "poor mans lobster". Hope to make this a yearly event. All the best, 
- Jim Oberg, March 6, 2013
Well the 19th annual Don Lewis Can/Am ride to Baudette and Sportsmans Lodge is now in the record books. We would like to give you and your GREAT STAFF A SPECIAL THANKS for the many courtesies shown to our group. Five star rating. The food, rooms, entertainment and service were great. The drinks and appitizers were much appreciated by all. Our group would like to give Jennifer Special Thanks for her great service in making sure our dinner reservations and our overall stay were up to Sportsman's standards. Once again, Many Thanks! Already looking foreward to next Feb. 21st. - Your Canadian Friends, Don Lewis, March 4, 2013
We love the ice fishing trips we take every year. - Kris Haugen, March 2, 2013
Heaven is Lake of the Woods! - David Duffy, March 1, 2013
Fishin's great. Resort's great. What's more to say! - Jeffrey Hammerstrom, March 1, 2013
Love this place! Bruce Nepper, March 1, 2013
Was there for my first time ever ice fishing and it was fabulous! I had so much fun and the staff made me feel so comfortable. Kelley was an awesome guide who helped accommodate in any way. I loved it and can't wait to come back. Amanda Handt, March 1, 2013
You guys are great. I want to thank you for the good times i've had fishing with you previously. - Larry Spilman, March 1, 2013
We really enjoy this resort, caught my first Lake Of the Woods Walleye while staying at the Sportsman’s Lodge. 
Heather Brosdahl, March 1, 2013
Love your resort!!! - JoAnne Backman, March 1, 2013
My husband Chad caught a Walleye that measured 22 1/2 inches on our fishing trip February 20 & 21, 2013. Thank you all for such a wonderful time. Our trip was amazing. All the staff and guides are first class. Hope to see you all again this summer. - Jennifer & Chad Doughman, February 26, 2013
Great place to stay. - Ed Hose, February 23, 2013
I had an amazing time this winter where my husband and myself stayed and fished 3 days. - Deborah Larson, February 20, 2013
Awesome lodge and guides. Had an awesome time when we came to the lodge. - Mark Ranweiler, February 19, 2013
I have been going to Lake of the Woods for a long time and Sportsman's is one of the best places to be!!! 
Josh Holm, February 19, 2013
Had a great stay and will be coming back soon! - Donny Tart, February 13, 2013
Fish in the sturgeon tourney every year and love it up there. Good Times! - Daniel Johnson, Bemidji, MN, February 12, 2013
First time at Sportsmans and truly enjoyed it the ice fishing was great, excellent service. We are considering coming back in the summer to fish some more! - Mike Peter, Woodbury, MN, February 11, 2013
Enjoyed your restaurant after a good day of fishing. - Tony Steplyk, February 5, 2013
I have stayed numerous times in the cabins while fishing during the fall and winter. Have always had a great time. The food and stuff was excellent. Planning another fishing trip soon. - Lloyd Williamson, February 1, 2013
Love your resort. Friendliest and most enjoyable time I ever had visiting you and would love to return again. - Francios Uyl, January 30, 2013
Enjoyed my lodging & fishing while staying at Sportman's Lodge in the fall of 2011. In the fall of 2012 we stayed at Oak Island & fished on the way up & fished on the way back. Once again, we had a great time. Our guide was Daryl. Couldn't ask for a better fishing guide. - Jackie Clark, February 1, 2013
As always we were treated very well by all the staff, great Guides Troy and John..We will always recommend Greg and his resort, its the best on LOTW. - Dan LoosJanuary 11, 2013
Fantastic visit! Fishing was a little slow but the small ones kept us occupied. Rooms in the lodge were nice and service superb. Everyone treated us well. Meals in the resturant and on ice were excellent. Drivers, especially Troy, always looking out for us. Made reservations for next season! - Jim Bronk, January 11, 2013
You and your staff did a great job. Thanks,  - Raymond Boelz, January 11, 2013
It was a great stay as usual. - Bruce Sirotiak, January 11, 2013
It was great to see Jerry and Gregg over the New Year. We just spent our 23rd consecutive New Year at the Sportsman. The new TVs, carpet and, especially, the matresses we're great! Thanks, and we'll see you next year. 
Ron and Grete Peterson, January 6, 2013
Sportsman's Sleepers Division Hi Sheri, 

You and Dan really take good care of us and we are Grateful for that. We were very fortunate as usual to bring home fish and enjoy very good action each day.Your operation is by far the best there is! Thank you for all that you do, may the new year be very fulfilling for you and yours in the Perfect way! 
Craig Hafferman  (Mike Brown party), January 6, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful time and as always were treated great by the staff...Great guides like Troy and John make the trip always a success...Great 2013 Trip. - Dan Loos, January 6, 2013
Definitely will return to Sportsman's. The friendliness and accommodating style of the staff is most impressionable. Fun meeting Jerry at a gas station before our arrival, he said we'd be well taken care of which set the tone, and we weren't disappointed. Thanks again, and see you again, hopefully sooner than later. - Dave Johnson,  December 28, 2012
I would like to tell you how much I enjoyed my stay at Sportsman's. The room was outstanding! Great food, good times, great people! The staff is welcoming and freindly and our guide Troy was and is a great guy! Counting down the days until I come back! See you Soon!!!Connie Kingman, December 26, 2012
Like the friendly atmosphere at Sportsman's. I continue coming back year after year, and now have included other family members to enjoy it also.  Wayne Sletten, November 1, 2012
Hi! I have been a cabin guest twice for ice fishing, and I am 'hooked'!!!!! We had a great time on the lake and in the bar- can't wait for my next trip up to see you!!! - Margaret Mogren, October 31, 2012
I've enjoyed every stay at Sportsman's Lodge! - Clint Stensrud, October 30, 2012
We love camping here and now staying in your lodge will be fun also. Always great customer service as well. 
Sharilyn Million, October 24, 2012
Want to thank you for a wonderful fishing experience Ralph & Flip (the soon to be Mayor) were exceptional and the best guides we have ever had. Great place met some wonderful people a good time was had by all. 
- Deb Clark & Steve and Brenda Pickle, October 1, 2012
Hi Diana , yes we had an awesome time. I believe everyone enjoyed their lake of the woods trip. Thank you to you and all your staff. The wedding, and the weather and everything turned out perfect. Thank you for helping with all the little details, everyone mentioned how nice the little things were ! The food was awesome. Hope your having a nice fall! 
- Andrea Lien, October 2012
Dear Staff,  We were guests at the Ness Wedding earlier this month. Thank you for a very nice time. Our accommodations were perfect! Villa #426. Thanks, - The Petersons, September 26, 2012
We had a blast. Great accommodations, great fishing, great fun. - Linda Weinand, August 29, 2012
We enjoyed our stay very much. Your staff was very friendly. - James Bull, August 3, 2012
Love the resort! Visit Sportsman every year at least once, usually twice! - Shelia Peterson, Amery, WI, July 11, 2012
I've fished a lot of lakes in MN and LOW is my favorite. I try to come up at least twice a year and I love to go to Sportsman's Lodge. I'm going to try to bring my wife up in September for the first time ever. She really wants to come up bad. Thanks for the Great Memories!! Rich H. Rappa, St Paul, MN, July 3, 2012
Hi Captain Flip, Thanks for such a great fishing trip and all of your patience and expert help. We hope to be able to go out again with you next year. Enjoy the pictures. - Ted & Mary Simpson, July 1, 2012
Loved the trip. Great experience. Would do it again. Great Fishing. Awesome shore lunches. 
- Tim Stebral, June 30, 2012 
I have been coming up there for over 20 yrs. We had a great time. The fishing was great. Darrell was a really good guide. The shore lunch was great. Your food there is always excellant. This turned out to be one of the best trips there and its always a treat. Thank-you! - Darwin Dockter, Pengilly, MN, June 2012
This is the absolut best to stay and Play, Great place, and people, Not to mention the fantastic FISHING!!!!!!!!!
Dad brought me up there 15 years ago and try to get there every other year. 
Robert Mattson, Coon Rapids, MN, June 1, 2012
Thank you Jacki, can hardly wait to come up again!! We had the best time ever!! Looks like your hard water fishing got cut a little short this year. Just might have to plan two trips next season!!! Thanks again!! Your facility is first class!!  
Mike Jurgens, March 20, 2012
Dear Sportsmans,

Well for the last three years, my group has been staying in a cabin thursday night. We rent a sleeper Friday-Sunday. Once, again it was a blast. I want to comment the staff at Sportsman's. I personally caught a 26" and 25" walleye on Friday and my brother in law caught a 22" walleye Saturday, which was his personal best. We are already planning on be up in March 2013. - Steve Smith, March 23, 2012
We loved our stay and would recommend the sportsman lodge to anyone looking for a great get away! All the staff were very friendly and the food was great! - March 12, 2012
Great trip! Have been coming many years and everything is always organized and accommodating. Bobbie was a great waitress. Thanks for the rides to and from the airport. 
We enjoyed our stay and the staff. Fishing was really great. My wife outfished me again. We will be back. 
Dave Johnson, March 12, 2012
As usual everything was great. I can always count on this trip being a good time for myself and my customers. 
- Jim Miller, March 5, 2012 
I have been coming to Sportsman's Lodge for years. I have always had such a great experience that this year I have started to host my company's x-mas party there as well. Great Job! - Mike Lillemo, March 1, 2012 
I was there on a B.O.W. Sturgeon Fishing weekend through the DNR and had a great time! 
- Jennifer Evens, February 26, 2012
We recently visited your resort on February 9-12 and had a “FANTASTIC TRIP". Our reservation was set up by Verna who was kind enough to set us up in Room 329. We fished Friday and Saturday in your rental houses and did fairly well considering the blistering temperatures. My son William (13) brought a friend of his, Nathan (13), who had never ice fished before. In fact, he had never caught a Walleye before. We'll definitely be back! - Jim Florin, February 23, 2012
We love coming to Sportsman's Lodge - my husband has been going there for years with the guys - now we've started our own annual trip (this was our second annual). I'll have to remember next year to ask for a fish house with a little bathroom - lol. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!! - Dave and Sharon Otten, February 23, 2012 
Been coming up for Many years... and I will say this is one of the best groups of guides that I have had a chance to spend a few days with! Luke did a wonderful job! And the rest of the guides were very personal as well... That goes a long way for wanting to come back to the Sportsmans. Also the girls at the front desk were great again as usual Thanks again. See you in March. - Tom Case, February 11, 2012
Every trip to Sportsman's Lodge has been wonderful. I've enjoyed the accomodations, as well as the fantastic ice fishing on Lake of the Woods. - Clint Stensrud, February 9, 2012
We had a blast!! Ian our guide was a big help to us trout fishermen from montana. We will definitely try to get back there again! Thanks for the great time!! - Terri Westein, February 21, 2012
Best fishing we have ever had!! Our drivers for the 3 days,Troy and Jeremy, were very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Really made the trip great!! Looking forward to next year already!!! - Kim Abraham, February 19, 2012
My husband and I came up there for our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for a better time. Our guides were so friendly and personable when we come up again we hope to get them as our guide. Keith gave us some business cards and we will be sure to pass them along to our friends and family. We had such a wonderful time. Thank you for the awesome experience! - Holly Privette, February 17, 2012
Found a dozen roses waiting for me in my fish house from my boyfriend on Valentine's Day. Large selection of alcohol, and a large array of fish being caught!!! Couldn't have asked for a better Valentine's Day. Thanks Sportsmans for another memorable trip of ice fishing!!! - Devaney, February 17, 2012
Great staff! Very good food and bar... The all season indoor pool is a real plus! Jerry Hansen, February 7, 2012
Try to make it up there every year it is a great time. - Steve Ladwig, February 7, 2012
The staff and everyone was very nice. I would come back again. - Michael Perpich, February 2, 2012
The very best and most productive 2 days of fishing in my entire 72 years. The guides are what keeps me coming back to Sportsman's Rainy River. - Tom Carlson, January 31, 2012
Limited out on walleye! - Dan Wieczorek, January 31, 2012
This was a birthday present for my husband and we both had a great time. The staff at the lodge was so nice. We will return and hope to see in a new Villa!! - Kathy Dezeller, January 31, 2012
Hi Gregg, My husband and I were up there last Sun-Wed. This was our first time doing this and I caught a 27 1/2 in walleye. Caught and released in my first 10 min fishing. Needless to say we will be back. Thanks for a real first rate experience. Thank you again. Julie LaBathe, January 26, 2012
A great time was had by all !!!Great food. Great staff. Great fun. - Terry Thiewes, January 26, 2012
 I would just like to say I had an amazing weekend of fishing, topped off with a fat 27 incher! Thank you for a great weekend. Ben Davis, Austin, MN, January 24, 2012
We love Sportsmans !! Thank you! - Tyler Glad, January 24, 2012
Fishing was so-so but had a fantastic time. Rooms are very good, food is excellent and the staff are the best. They are very pleasant and always ready to help you. We went to breakfast each day 10 minutes before the room opened and they always offered coffee immediately and made us welcome. We already made reservations for next winter. -Jim Bronk, January 24, 2012
I've stayed with you 7-8 times over the past 18 yrs. or so. We usually go around Valentines day. My wife and I have enjoyed every trip we've taken to Sportsman's. We hope to get back there again one of the these years when money and time permit. - Todd Highstrom, January 23, 2012
Gregg & Jennifer, Thank you and your entire staff for another great fishing trip and a few days away with family & friends.  Villa 426 is awesome and Jennifer booked us again for next year. Thanks again, - Bob Bergstrom, January 20, 2012
Hi Jennifer, Thank you for the reservation.  We had a great time and caught many fish.  Everyone on the trip wants to come back to Sportsmans next winter, you all do a really nice job with the resort.  - Jon Wohlhuter, January 18, 2012
We just visited Sportsman's to celebrate our anniversary and ring in the New Year. Thank you for a great time! All the guides and staff were so helpful and hospitable. Thanks again and hope to return soon! Patricia Bobzin, January 2, 2012
Had a wonderful time, fishing was slow on the first day but the second day made up for it. Food and lodging were first class. Thank you. - Marshall Lind, February 28, 2011
New villa was very nice! That was much needed. Your location is very helpful and friendly. I look forward to coming back! James Fuschetto, December 27, 2011
Once they moved us to deeper water we had a great time. Everything else was very nice. Chuck Maetzold, December 27, 2011
Good morning! What an incredible time we had yesterday. Over 100 fish caught out of #38. Hope your customers that are in there today do just as well. Gregg, I looked around for you last night but couldn't find you and we needed to hit the road. Sportsman's always does a wonderful job taking care of us and the food was great! The 4 of us were talking on the way home and all of us were thinking that we have never had such a great hard water experience. Lots of good photos and videos taken. (which I will email to you) As always, our experience with Sportsman's was world class and many memories were made that will last a life time. Thank you for another great outing. - Jason Green, Grand Rapids, MN, December 27, 2011 
We had a great time! Staff was great! Fishing was great! (except for the one that got away) Mary Loiselle, December 27, 2011
We had a great stay! The food at the Lodge was Excellent! The staff worked with us so we could get out fishing early on our arrival date and that is huge in my book. Our group has over doubled in size over the last few years and this we had two guys in cabin 1 also. Fishing was great, and we will be back n ext year with maybe a couple more guys. Thanks again for all you do! Sincerely, Paul E., December 26, 2011
I love coming to Sportsmans Lodge on Lake of the Woods! Andrew Hilpisch, December 20, 2011
Me and my wife just returned from a Ice Fishing vacation at your facility. I can't thank you enough. It was so enjoyable from the excellent fishing to the food and hospitality. Larry Horning
We set an attendance record at our 2011 Christmas Party.  The food and service was superb.  We'll be back next year.  Merry Christmas! Ralph Wilson, Lake of the Woods Foods, December 9, 2011
I really appreciate your care and thoughtfulness of your clients. You run a real class act resort.
Kevin Park, December 2, 2011
We enjoyed our stay.  Great food and live band! Karen Hunter, Winnipeg, MB, November 21, 2011
Sportsman's Lodge, Thank you for helping make our wedding reception so great!  We had a wonderful time and so did our guests! Thank you for accommodating o ur family so well! Best, Taylor and Annica Baade, October 15, 2011
Probably one of my best fishing experience on Rainy River and Lake of the Woods has come while we stayed at Sportsman's. It is truly a outdoor wonderland and the accommodations were first rate. Bob Riegem Outdoor Writer/Photojournalist Outdoor Promotions Co., October 5, 2011
Dear Sportsman's, Great time, especially the Shore Lunch! Darrell did a great job as our guide/ Captain, he worked very hard all day keeping our lines ready, bringing the fish we caught landed etc. All in all just a Great Time! Thank You! Phil Hankland, October 5, 2011
Dear Erik, Our group had a great time at your lodge last week and are excited at the prospect of bringing some of our customers to your place for future outings. I hear the ice fishing is equally great.
Thanks for your hospitality.
Jim, John Deere Landscapes, July 18, 2011
Dear Sportsman's,D ave and Darrell made our fishing experience very enjoyable. Saturday on Dave's boat we were able to listen to the Iowa-Iowa State game which was very exciting for all of us. Our cabins were nice and very clean. The food was great morning and night. Enjoyed how you prepared our fish. Greg Alexander, September 15, 2011
Dear Flip (Guide Alan "Flip" Phillippe), Thank you for the wonderful walleye experience! You made our trip up here most enjoyable. Taking your job seriously and treating people with love and respect surely makes for a great guide. Grant is excited to return up here in November to hunt with Steve, so thank you for doing (making) that connection. Enjoy your winter, Sue & Grant Austin & Terry Zabel, September 2, 2011
Diana & Jennifer, Thank you so much for all your help in our recent wedding reception at Sportsman's. We really appreciate all that you did and were very happy with everything. It was a great day. All the Best, Heather & Chuck Franklin, August 29, 2011
Great time. Great fishing. Great guide (Darryl Vacura). Good food. Thanks for a great vacation. Peggy Sandstrom, August 10, 2011
Hi.. My son, Adam, and I recently got back from our annual trip to Sportsman's...what a great time!..Flip put us over great fishing both days, cabin 12 was wonderful! We have been coming up there every year for the last several years, ever since I won a trip from a State Lottery drawing!...Lucky day for me, and lucky day for you, you got a couple of very happy customers!...We are making our Sportsman's trip an annual tradition..keep up the good work... Richard Wick, October 10, 2011
Sportsman's Lodge, I didn't think our first fishing adventure several years ago could be out done, but our Capt. (Dave McDougall) and your staff, especially Jenny, made sure that it happened. We couldn't have asked for a greater fishing experience. Capt. Dave's experience and skills insured we have plenty of walleye to eat and take home! Please pass along our thanks for a great time to Dave and Jenny! Regards, Phil Krotz, July, 31, 2011
We love the Sportsman's Lodge and have been fishing and staying there for years. It is always the highlight of our summer. Shelia Peterson, July 27, 2011
My two nieces and there husbands said they had a fantastic time there over the fourth of july weekend and they want to come back and so would my wife and I. Thank you! Bill Baker, July 20, 2011
Good Morning Diana and Jennifer, I just wanted to write a short note to let you both know how much we enjoyed our stay at the Sportsman's Lodge. We couldn't have asked for better service or accommodations. From the ladies at the front desk, to the launch guides, to the restaurant personnel, to the housekeeping ladies....we had a fantastic time. It was everything we expected and more. The "men folk" had a great time on the launches (also including my daughter and sister-in-law) and caught their limit of fish both days. They all came back with big smiles and "big fish stories"!! Ha Ha. The kids loved the pool and game room and also the food. The wedding went off without a hitch. It was the most beautiful day a bride could ask for. The Leonard C was a perfect setting for our day. As we approached the island for our fish fry I looked over at the boat full of loved ones and all were smiling and having the time of their lives. Bobbie was a great bartender and server....the Captain, was very attentive and made sure we were all happy and fed. Again, I feel like I am saying this too much but EVERYONE was fantastic. Thanks again for all the memories that we will cherish for the rest of our lives. Cheers to the Sportsman's Lodge!!!The Lund's, July, 14, 2011
To Jennifer and all the staff at Sportsman's, Thank you for all your help.  I am on electric scooter and you made it possible for me to get around.  Jennifer, I got my fishing rods back with no problem.  Please thank your brother for me. Thanks Again, Bob Pulkrabek, July 9, 2011
Dear Eric: Thanks for being a tremendous guide. The entire group had a great time with you and Joe as our hosts. Here are some of the pictures from the trip. I will send some more when we download them all. I have a couple of from when you made the quadruple netting on our fish. Thanks again. Matt Boles, June 25, 2011
A great trip. Kids had a good time and caught plenty of fish. The pool and hottub were also nice especially for the kids after a day of fishing. The weather could have been nicer but the fishing more than made up for it. We will be coming back next June for sure. Sterling Party June 22, 2011
We had a wonderful time at your lodge and it will be our first choice to return to. My son and son-in-law just loved everything about it. The food and service was excellent and our guide "Dave" was the best. We ate so much good fish and he went out of his way to do anything for us that he could. Our shore lunches were the best and the trip to Oak Island for the second day shore lunch was a treat. Thank you for making our trip so memorable. Mark Stenson, June 15, 2011
Diana, We would like to thank you and your staff (especially Bobby Jo, the lady with the glasses that helped us carry all our stuff and the young man the cleaned up the boat- all we very helpful, kind people) for all your help in making our weekend a success. It was great. Thanks again, Ann Haaby Wedding, Parents of the Bride, May 30, 2011
Hi All, We enjoyed our stay at Sportsman's Lodge. Everything was awesome. We stayed in Cabin #18. It was perfect accommodations. The food in the Lodge was great. That staff were excellent! We caught around 30 Sturgeon for the 3 nights that we stayed at Sportsman's. This photo was the biggest at 60.5 inches, a true monster. This is our third year in a row that we have been to Sportsman's, and we will be back next year. Sincerely, Steve Bemrose, April 29, 2011
Diana, thanks to you and your staff for the excellent meal served last night!
Becky, Lake of the Woods Drifters Landowners Banquet Coordinator, April 14, 2011
We had a wonderful time at Sportsman's!  The food was terrific!  We hope to see you again next year - then it will be my turn to catch the big one! Thanks again!! Sharon, February 4, 2011
Thanks again for the Ice Fishing Sleeper and Support.  All of us in our group had a very good time.   Fishing was off due to the extreme temps and pressure systems rolling across the area for the last week, but that's why its called "Fishing" -not- "Catching."  Still managed to bring home 28 fish for three family fish fry's.  Included is the photo of our largest Walleye (27.5" Length and 13.5" Girth) caught on on orange ice fly tipped with a minnow in 31' feet of water around 12 noon.  Additionally, I have included a photo of our largest perch a 13" caught on a gold flying spoon with a minnow head. Til next year, keep up the good work and we will help spread the word about your operation here in Nebraska. Respectfully, Craig D. Omaha, NE, January 24, 2011
We came up in early September and found the fishing to be outstanding. Eric was great. I wouldn't miss this trip for anything.  Curt, January 14, 2011
We've stayed at Sportsman's for the first time last winter and loved the amazing hospitality, great food, and caught all the fish we could have wanted! Bethany L. Princeton, MN, January 5, 2011
The Lodge is an awesome getaway!!!!!!!! Jeff SpencerGrand Forks, ND, December 1, 2010
Our group will see you on Dec 14 for some of the best ice fishing in the state. We can not wait. Bill BRochester, MN, November 18, 2010
Great resort love it! Jarod M.Badger, MN, November 18, 2010
Looking forward too our 5th yr ice fishing. Jake J.Gilbert, AZ, November 16, 2010
Glad to hear the ice will soon be here! Nice!!!!!!!! We can't wait to come up again!!! We have made this a tradition! My brother-in-laws and I, this will be our third year up there, it's a great place to take our yearly man trip!!!!! :) Bring on the ice!!! Nikko S., November 15, 2010
Dear Sportsman's, I myself haven't been there YET, but my husband goes every year and LOVES it!!! I can't wait to finally get up there! Cara W.Georgetown, MN, November 11, 2010
Hennum family, I have been traveling to Sportsman's for 46 years.  Correct that, it was Jesmes resort when I started.  That was 46 years ago.  Coincidentally, I am 46.  Except for a couple of years for college and marriage, we have made the trek every year from the twin cities.  We continue to with my children and parents.  In the last five years, I have had to make the trip at least two times per year (Winter and Spring).  Back in the day (pre 1980) we went to the Canadian side (Quick) and post restrictions we stay with the American flag.  We have always fished with our party 1-5 boats, until a couple of years ago when I met Tim Mart during a wintertime fish dinner.  He has been taking us fishing for a day or two of our trip.  This year was particularly notable because we caught A LOT of BIG fish! Tim did  a great job and we consider him a friend.  My daughters (14 and 16) love to fish because Tim makes it a fun time.  My Dad is slowing down a bit, so Tim and the staff got him a wheelchair.  He had a Ball!  My Mom caught one of the biggest fish of her long fishing career.  Jeannie my wife not only got a great Tan, but caught fish too!  I am attaching the ‘board' picture from our trip and notice Marena's (youngest daughter) fish in the middle seems to be a bit longer than the others.  We hope to enjoy many more years in the cabins of Sportsman's lodge!Steve Wallschlaeger, July 29, 2010
A big thanks to you and your staff! The group really enjoyed the outing and a good time was had by all.  In addition the crew caught some very nice fish. Have a great summer! Bryan Thiel, June 22, 2010
Diana: just wanted to thank you and your staff for the great service and friendly atmosphere we found at the Sportsman's Lodge. Everyone enjoyed our meeting and time at your establishment and I appreciate how helpful and accommodating your staff was when the meeting moved along faster than anticipated and they got the lunch ready earlier than it was planned. Thank you so much for the lovely experience. Carole WieseResearch Services
Good Morning- Just a note to thank Capt Dave for a great day of fishing Sunday 10/10/10. Capt Dave put us on the fish from the get-go and lasted all day long. Great Guide. Tell Capt Dave we will be back next year for another great time. Pammy and Bob Rowbotham
Gregg, We had another great time fishing as usual. We enjoyed our sturgeon fishing trip with Flip! Thanks again and we might see you sometime in December for ice fishing. John & Shelia Peterson
Husband and I just returned from Sportsman's lodge. Spent 3 days out on the ice in the sleepers. First day was slow, but after that, we caught quite a few. Our last day, March 3, husband caught all the fish. He caught 9 saugers and 3 walleye between 8:30 and 11:30. Had a great time. This was our first time doing this in the sleepers. I would recommend them to anyone that would like to do this. They take very good care of you. Check on you twice a day, make sure you are catching fish and have everything you need. If not catching anything they will help you with different tips and if that doesn't work they will move your sleeper for you. Will defiantly do again! Patti Sutton
Jacki, Yes, Steve and his father Mike came up to Sportsman's this year for the very first time and I would guess not the last.  Assisting in landing the fish was my son Alex who by the way has released several 23 inch and one 26 inch walleye.  Dads like Mike and I just stand back and watch the fun.   I will forward the cards to Steve and his dad when they arrive. A great promotional item.  We certainly had a fun time.  The Overall experience that you provide has been compounded over the years by the release of fish like Steve's.  Keep up the good work promoting catch and release.  Yes, we also have had many a great meal of smaller fish over the years.  Thanks againTom Primozich, March 3, 2010
My wife and I love Sportsman's you always accommodate us no matter what it takes, that's why we are still with you guys Thanks!! Tyler Glad, February 8, 2010
Dear Sheri, (Sportsman's Sleeper House Division) Thanks for the great trip, we had a great time as usual. You guys are first class and I tell everyone that. See you next year, Doug Hartman, January 30, 2010
Gregg & Diana, Thank you both so much for making our day perfect! The food was the best food I have EVER had at any wedding! We got so many positive remarks on the food both nights! Sportsman's Lodge was the perfect place for our reception, everything was wonderful! Thank you for all of your help and hospitality! Thank you again, Nathan, Janette & JaylaWedding Summer 2009
Greg and all those involved - Thank you for your contributions to this disabled veterans event. The accommodations were more than adequate and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. The elk hunt was a success for Tim Merkens and he will cherish the whole experience the rest of his life. Thank you again for your support of disabled veterans. Best Regards - John O. RosenbergerAsst. CVSO Norman County Veterans Service Office, December 1, 2009
I just wanted to say thank you for a great weekend. Our crew was up from Oct 22nd through Oct 26. We were registered under the Hummel party. We caught an unbelievable amount of fish and had an excellent time. We went through 25 bags of frozen shiners in 3 days of fishing. Thanks Again, Bob, October 24, 2009
To our fellow Minnesota elk breeders, August 11-14, we redeemed our prize at Sportsman's Lodge and Lake of the Woods. It was a wonderful experience and our first time there. We took our 12 year old grandson, BJ, because he is a super kid and fantastic fisherman. The first day charter was with Captain Darryl. Everyone had a great time and limited out on walleyes and a few sauger. All six fisherman had a fun time and we made new friends from UP Michigan and Rhinelander, WI. Day two charter was with Captain Flip and we truly enjoyed him and the history behind Lake of the Woods people and the fishing. We also limited out on walleyes and some sauger. We made another friend on that charter, Tom from Coon Rapids, who chose not to be in the picture. The evening of the second charter, the kitchen fried our fish and served them to us. Delicious as we could want. Our cabin was very nice and overlooked the Rainy River with a lovely view. The fishing people and the staff were enjoyable and helpful. All in all the trip was great and we intend to go to the Sportsman's Lodge again in the future. Thanks for arranging the trip.Sincerely Paul & Dorothy Eley, October 22, 2009
My Father and I, along with our two Goldens "T'n'T"(Tanner and Toby) are coming back this coming weekend, staying Saturday and Sunday night. Hoping to repeat our success from this spring (limits every day...lost one over 30") Looking forward to the updated report Wednesday. We have been coming up for 6 years now and have never stayed anywhere but Sportsman's. You all are awesome and I CANNOT WAIT to get those lines wet. See ya soon.P.S. I catch a FAT 26" every time I am up there but can't seem to get one any bigger than that, neither me, my dad, or ma. Throw some good luck magic our way this weekend. Thanks, and see ya soon. Jared Agrey October 20, 2009
Been up there twice in my life, I recommend everyone get there once, you have a great place and a great staff.Jennifer Beck, October 18, 2009
Thanks Sportsman's for a great trip! We always catch n release Sturgeon, it just takes them sooo long to get this BIG!This one was nearly 4 feet! We love fishing for 'em and enjoyed our trip to Sportsman's VERY MUCH. Sure we caught some Walleye by mistake and they made an excellent Shore Lunch with Captain Dave but what other fish can you go after and not know if you will catch a 2 footer or a 6 footer next bite! Thanks Sportsman's. Jim, Ron & Jim Juszczyk, October 6, 2009
Gregg, My brother and I had a great time, as usual, last week at Sportsman's.  Fishing couldn't have been any better and all your people make up a class act! Lee HaackYanmar Construction Equipment, September 21, 2009
Dear Gregg, I can't tell you how much I appreciated how successful my meeting was at the Sportsman's Lodge. You have a great staff and your resort is far above superb.  I appreciate your working with me to put this meeting together, and the fine staff that you have and how willing they were to do ANYTHING for us to make our stay top notch. Here are just a few of the highlights of what I noted of our trip (listed by people and events). Christina - Great job.  We had a little "glitch" at the beginning but she stepped in and worked things out.  She was always ready and willing to help out and make things work. She is a great person who loves her job....and loves where she works...it was very apparent to me.  Thanks to Christina. Gabby - The perfect server in your restaurant.  We ALL loved her because she was friendly, helpful, great temperament with a bunch of guys....easy to talk to, a good representative of your business, interested in what we did for the day, helpful and fun.  We wished she was working every day we were there.   Lucinda - Another great server that we saw at breakfast.  Great personality and always greeted us with a big hello in the morning. Erik at the front desk - Great guy and willing to jump in and help out with any question we had. Erik - He got us our wood and put in a fire pit that we could sit around at night.  Good job and thanks!!  Fishing Guides -  AWESOME!!  We had some last minute plans to go fishing in the afternoons and Ralph and Flip jumped in to take our guys fishing.  They were the BEST.  We also had three great guides for our planned fishing days...Ralph, Darryl, and Dave.  Great job to all of them and the fantastic shore lunch. Your Cook - I noticed that when we ordered our food (a group of 13-14) she always had the dinner done for everyone at the same time and had it delivered up at the same time.  I'm not sure how she did it but it was pretty impressive.  Also, the guys loved the scones and cookies that we had during our meetings.  I didn't get a scone (they were gone by the time I got there) but they all RAVED about them.  Hats off to the cook. Joe in the bar - we had one of our meals in the bar  and kept Joe hopping...but he was up to the job.  He did a great job. So....have I said enough about your staff?  Nope...not yet.  There were many more that I didn't get their names...but we were greeted by all, they all knew who we were and were ALL helpful to us.  From your housekeepers to those others behind the scenes that we may not have noticed, thank you again. Your resort and staff made our trip a true success....and I want to schedule more trips to the Sportsman's Lodge.  So...even though you were not there during our trip (yes, I know you deserved a vacation...and I am glad you took it) your staff did a fantastic job while you were away.  The "mice" did not play while the "cat" was away. Thanks. Each year I plan a similar meeting and we have been to Duluth, Winnipeg, Vancouver, Montreal, and Madden's in Brainerd.  We have never been back to the same place twice....but I want to come back to the Sportsman's next year.  I will talk with you about this and would like to include (if possible) a chance to have Ralph Christofferson give a seminar on how to build a fishing pole to our group.  I would like to work this in with our meetings and fishing.....  Let me know if this is something we can do. Thanks again...Great job....and a great resort.  And...best of all again....you have a great staff. Rolf SwansonRegional Sales ManagerLoram, September 5, 2009
My Wife and I have stayed at your resort before and just love the accommodations. We also fish together and love the fall fishing on the Rainy River. We have not been up there in the spring to fish, but hope to make the trip maybe next spring. Keep up the great services you already have! Thank you , Bradley D. Chaska, MN, August 24, 2009
We had a great time. It was a perfect 3 days. The staff was friendly and courteous. Fishing was great. The meals were fantastic. William M. Wartburg, TN
Today, I have to compliment you and Sportsman's. I was up fishing this weekend and had a good time as usual. A buddy of mine tried the Surf & Turf on Friday and he said the steak was good and he also had the steak special Saturday and said that was good. On Sunday morning before we left for the ride home we had breakfast. The waitress (Sam) was working and she did a FANTASTIC job. Sam was by herself and was dealing with table loads of guys, some spoke very little english...she handled it all amazingly, with a smile. She needs a pay raise!!! I'd hire her in a second. That is one thing I can always say about Sportsman's is that you hire a great wait staff. One more compliment and then I'd better quit. We went fishing on Saturday and never had such bad weather conditions for fishing but Dave took care of us, he got us our limit, and saw that everyone had a good safe time. I think that he is one of, or if not, your best guide...he and Windy are tops. Thanks again. Don Prihoda
We had the best vacation ever at your place last year. Darrel was our guide and he was terrific. I have told well over 30 people about your place. We think you guys are awesome! Alan L. Omaha, NE August 2009
Dear Sportsman's Lodge & Staff, Eric & Justin We want to Thank You so much for taking our sorrow of losing our son. Steve, and making our weekend a memorable one for our family. For the gals who didn't really care to fish to end up fishing 2 days was huge!! Eric and Justin, we don't think we can come again if we don't have you TWO! The meals and everything were so great and not one complaint came from anyone. Memories of this will last and we are talking about doing this again in a couple of years. Again, Thanks to all of you for your hospitality! Love, Curtis & Judy Nelson
Thanks for a good time enjoyed the time up there with you. We would like to come up again and try some more of the great fishing you have. Derek M Fairmont, MN April 7, 2009
Jennifer, Thank you for the quick response. I took a few cards when I left and handed them out to a few folks at my job. I told them what a great time my son and I had. We've tried to make the spring break trip something we do yearly. We've always had a great time time and Gregg has always took us to where the fish were biting.  Hope to see you next year same time same place. Thanks again, Gary and Mark G.March 2009
Dear Gregg & Staff Just wanted to take a quick minute and write a quick note of thanks.  Your staff paid attention to every detail of our trip and made it a world class adventure.  From the start of the trip and the bus ride north, we were treated like celebrities.  The food was excellent and the bar staff put up with our not wanting to go to bed in the most professional manner.  The lodge made sure every request was taken care of with enthusiasm and they carried out each and every request. To say the fishing was amazing is an understatement.  All three of our boats caught, photographed and released numerous trophy fish.  The shore lunch, oh my gosh, where do we begin, it was that awesome.  The guides went up and above the call of duty and took care of everything down to the last detail.  Plus, we were able to send everyone home with a ton of pictures, a lot of memories and a limit of fresh Walleye!! Again, thanks for the great trip, the many memories and the friendships you helped us all develop.  We can't wait to do it all over again.  Maybe next time we will have to come up ice fishing although with this group, that could be a little dangerous. THANKS AGAIN!!!!! Chris
Dear Gregg, Well the 12th Annual Ride is now in the history books.. Many thanks for your expertise.  The ride using the orange stakes was a dream all the way back to Falcon And West hawk Lakes traveling at 50 mph and no hiccups. I would like to give a special thanks to Eric, Kit and Dave for a great outing on Tuesday.  The food was once again excellent - a highlight for most of the guys!! Also "thanks" to Eric for showing us some new trails in the Baudette area and for his concern for the riders. Just proves Gregg that you do not have to be there for things to run well!!!!!  Also "Thanks" to your great staff for the many courtesies shown to our group.  Shelly at the Front Desk, all the Bar & Restaurant staff for their patience and great service and the cabin staff for making sure all was just great for our group. Lookin forward to next Feb. 09 Continued success to the Sportsman's Lodge and Staff. Your Canadian Friend, DonFebruary 18, 2008
Hello Gregg, Yes, it was cold on Sunday Feb. 10th.  We just got our lines into the 30 feet of water and pulled in a small sauger.  Later we caught some nice walleye and a few more small ones. We had a good guide, he stopped by to check on us.  The bombardier gave us quite a ride. Sunday evening we had a hot water line frozen in our cabin.  We were promptly given a room in the motel.  Thank you. The meals were excellent and each evening we had a very good waitress.  We got the red carpet treatment.  Thank you. With this global warming, we should have better weather next year. Sincerely, Arnold
To All at The Sportsman Lodge: We just wanted to let you know what a wonderful time we had ice fishing and how wonderful all of your staff and drivers treated us. We loved it so much that we are coming back this next week to rent your sleeper house. The fishing was great! You made my first time of fishing Lake of The Woods a lifetime memory.Thank You Again, Rick & Cheryl Merrill Wright, Mn., January 16, 2009

 

Sportsman's Rainy River     •     Eagle Ridge     •     Oak Island